Truvia Natural Sweetener Brunch Party!

As a member of the TruFan Community on Crowdtap, I was recently given the opportunity to host a Brunch Party featuring Truvia Natural Sweetener! I was sent a HUGE party pack that included a bag of Truvia baking blend, 4 boxes of Truvia packets, 2 containers of Truvia Spoonable, a bag of Folgers Gourmet Selections Vanilla Biscotti Ground Coffee, an adorable Truvia mug with the message “I love you when you’re not cranky”, one jar of Smucker’s Sugar Free Strawberry Preserves made with Truvia, a Truvia apron and a Truvia wooden stirring spoon! There was definitely enough Truvia to plan a party around!

Truvia goodies included in the party kit!

Truvia goodies included in the party kit!

All garbed out with Truvia!

All garbed out with Truvia!

I love warm drinks in the wintertime, especially hot tea as it helps fend off the cold! I’ve used sugar substitutes to sweeten hot tea and coffee for several years now because it cuts down on calories, but I know one reservation I’ve always held about these artificial sweeteners (like saccharin, aspartame, sucralose) is their potential negative health effects. It just seems like a reasonable assumption that natural and less processed foods would be better for our health than artificial and chemically synthesized ingredients. My mother has also been badgering me about my use of artificial sweeteners because she read some articles questioning their role in cancer and other diseases, and I know she’d prefer I use a more “natural” substitute. So I was delighted to learn that Truvia is all natural, made from the Stevia plant, erythritol, and other natural flavors. And given that the chill of winter is settling over our area, I knew that Truvia would be a perfect sweetener for all those hot drinks we’ll be consuming!

Besides being all natural, another appealing benefit of Truvia is that it has zero calories and doesn’t impact the glycemic index. So it is perfect for those on a diet and individuals who must watch their sugar intake due to diabetes or other medical conditions. My mother has Type 2 Diabetes, and although she loves sweets, she has to limit her sugar consumption. So I thought Truvia would be a perfect sugar alternative for her, especially since she could add it to coffee, which she loves!

Given that I live alone in a tiny apartment, I thought it made more practical sense and would be more enjoyable to hold my party at my parents’ house. Since I live about an hour’s drive away from them, I decided to schedule the party for the afternoon instead of the morning… As such, it was more of an “Afternoon Tea Party” than a “Brunch Party” per se, but Truvia was still the main star of the show and featured in all the snacks and beverages that we enjoyed!

My guests included my parents and several members/friends from their Chinese church. Many of them are young, international students who are addicted to coffee and tea like most typical students, and because they are also all interested in healthy living and nutrition as well, I thought they’d enjoy trying Truvia and making the #SweetSwitch!

After all the guests had arrived, I explained the party to them, my role as a Crowdtap member and host, and also described Truvia and its benefits. They all seemed intrigued to learn about an all-natural sugar substitute, and everyone was eager to get on to the tasting part of the party!

Talking about Truvia

Talking about Truvia

DSC05350

For the beverages, I prepared the Folgers Gourmet Selections Vanilla Biscotti Ground Coffee, which smelled absolutely sensational, as well as a pot of jasmine tea. I placed boxes of Truvia packets as well as a container of Truvia Spoonable next to the brewing pots, to give my guests a choice of using one or more packets or scooping an amount of Truvia to sweeten their drink to their taste preference. I laid out crackers for my guests to spread the Smucker’s Sugar Free Strawberry Preserves on, and we also had some chips and salsa to provide a salty flavor balance.

Getting coffee/tea!

Getting coffee/tea!

Crackers with Smucker's Sugar Free Strawberry Preserves!

Crackers with Smucker’s Sugar Free Strawberry Preserves!

Given that all my guests (and my family) were Chinese, instead of using the Truvia Baking Blend to bake a more “American” dessert (like cookies or cake), I decided to incorporate it into a popular Chinese mung-bean dessert soup! Mung-bean is a dark green-colored bean (bean sprouts germinate from them), and in a typical mung-bean soup preparation, they are boiled until soft and sweetened with sugar. Other beans and grains are often added to the soup to give it more texture and taste variety, and my mother incorporated peanuts as well as pressed barley into her version. But instead of “pre-sweetening” the soup with sugar as usual, I decided to let our guests use Truvia to flavor their dessert soups instead! It was a great way to show how Truvia is a versatile sugar substitute that can be used in various different types of ethnic cuisines!

Mung Bean soup on the stove!

Mung Bean soup on the stove!

My friend sweetening the mung-bean dessert soup with some Truvia!

My friend sweetening the mung-bean dessert soup with some Truvia!

I received various reactions from my guests regarding what they thought about Truvia, and for the most part the opinions were all pretty positive. Most of my guests were not regular artificial sweetener or sugar substitute users, so they definitely felt like Truvia had a taste that was distinctive from regular sugar. Those who had consumed other artificial sweeteners in the past like me were not as “bothered” by the taste and didn’t find it as noticeable. But even though my guests felt like Truvia did not taste exactly like pure sugar, they also commented that the flavor wasn’t offensive; and given the health benefits of Truvia, especially for those who need to watch their sugar and caloric intake like my mother, most of my guests agreed that it would be worth trying out.

Enjoying snacks with Truvia!

Enjoying snacks with Truvia!

Talking about the Truvia taste!

Talking about the Truvia taste!

One thing that everyone commented on was the amount of sweetness Truvia imparted. I told my guests that according to the packages and information from Truvia, one packet of Truvia gives the same level of sweetness as two teaspoons of sugar. Nevertheless, there were many exclamations of, “Wow! This is REALLY sweet!” I guess it was surprising to my guests how something that is NOT sugar could still taste so sugary! They were further impressed by the fact that so much flavor could come from the stevia plant leaf extract used to make Truvia, and that the strength of this flavor profile could be achieved with zero calories/sugar grams!

So overall, my guests and I really enjoyed tasting and learning about Truvia at the party! I know that several of them, my mother included, have been convinced to “make the #SweetSwitch”. My mother said that even though she’s been against using sugar substitutes in the past, she likes the fact that Truvia is all natural and that it provides a strong level of sweetness for so little added. Plus, she enjoyed how Truvia could be incorporated into various different dishes, and she, as well as many of my other guests, were all brainstorming ideas for which other Chinese desserts Truvia could be used in!

My mom trying Truvia in her coffee!

My mom trying Truvia in her coffee!

DSC05357

So thank you Crowdtap and the Truvia TruFan Community for giving me and my loved ones this great opportunity to taste and enjoy Truvia Natural Sweetener!

A friend (Michael), my mother, me, and another friend (Wei-Ming) all enjoying our coffee/tea with Truvia!

A friend (Michael), my mother, me, and another friend (Wei-Ming) all enjoying our coffee/tea with Truvia!

Thanks again, Crowdtap and Truvia!

Thanks again, Crowdtap and Truvia!

One thought on “Truvia Natural Sweetener Brunch Party!

Leave a Reply

