Campbell’s Skilled Saucers Hosted Party!

As part of the Campbell’s Skilled Saucers crowd on Crowdtap, I was recently given the opportunity to host a Campbell’s Sauces party and try the new Campbell’s Skillet Sauces as well as Slow Cooker Sauces! I was sent two coupons to purchase the Skillet/Slow Cooker Sauce pouches and try them out! Campbell’s Sauces come in a variety of tasty-sounding flavors, but I decided to choose the Sweet Korean Barbeque Slow Cooker Sauce and the Thai Green Curry Skillet Sauce. I love curry so I planned to make a chicken curry with the skillet sauce, and I’ve always wanted to taste Korean BBQ. I thought that since both the Sweet Korean BBQ and the Thai Green Curry are Asian-flavored, it would make for a nice “theme”!

Campbell's Sweet Korean BBQ Slow Cooker Sauce!

Campbell’s Sweet Korean BBQ Slow Cooker Sauce!

Campbell's Thai Green Curry Skillet Sauce!

Campbell’s Thai Green Curry Skillet Sauce!

The Slow Cooker Sauce pouch in the slow cooker!!

The Slow Cooker Sauce pouch in the slow cooker!!

The Skillet Pouch in the skillet!

The Skillet Pouch in the skillet!

I had my dinner party with my parents at their home over the weekend. For the slow cooker sauce, we went out and bought a 2.3lb slab of boneless beef shoulder. The recipe called for 2-3lbs of boneless beef chuck, but both my father and I couldn’t find that exact cut of meat, so we chose the beef shoulder, which looked like it would work well for our needs. For the skillet sauce, we purchased a whole chicken and sliced up the breast meat for the curry dish.

The beef cut we were going to use for the slow cooker meal!

The beef cut we were going to use for the slow cooker meal!

The Sweet Korea BBQ Slow Cooker Sauce was extremely easy to use…all we had to do was cut up the beef (we chose to cut it into pieces, even though from the directions it sounded like you could simply place the whole slab in the slow cooker without sectioning it!), open the packet, pour the sauce over the meat, cover, and turn on the slow cooker! The sauce smelled VERY fragrant as soon as I opened it…a sweet barbeque scent with hints of different spices! It smelled delicious!

The Sweet Korean BBQ Beef is done in the slow cooker!

The Sweet Korean BBQ Beef is done in the slow cooker!

We cooked the beef on high for 4 hours since we were a bit short on time, but an alternative was to cook it on low for 7-8 hours. It was great that we didn’t have to worry about it after turning on the slow cooker!

Yummy!

Yummy!

For the Thai Green Curry Skillet Sauce, I decided to add in some vegetables to the dish to make it “heartier” and give some variety. I sautéed some sliced onions and mushrooms, then cooked the chicken until it was no longer pink.

Cooking the chicken.

Cooking the chicken.

Added in sauce!

Added in sauce!

Afterwards, I poured in the sauce and stirred the dish, letting the Thai Green Curry flavor simmer and infuse into the chicken meat! Lastly, I added some defrosted frozen peas and corn kernels and let that heat up in the simmering curry.

Extra veggies give more color to the dish!

Extra veggies give more color to the dish!

Thai Green Curry Chicken dish is done!

Thai Green Curry Chicken dish is done!

C2

We cooked some white (Jasmine) rice that would work nicely as the “base” for our entrees. And we also prepared some side dishes to “round out” the meal, even though the dishes made with the Campbell’s sauces were PLENTY already! We had some cauliflower, an egg drop corn soup, and some bacon-wrapped potatoes! It was definitely a feast!

Quite the FEAST!

Quite the FEAST!

My parents and I really enjoyed the flavors of the Campbell’s Sauces! The Sweet Korean BBQ had a nice robustness and hint of mushrooms and onions as well as Asian spices. The Thai Green Curry was creamy and sweet with some nice undertones of lemongrass and other Thai seasonings. Both were saucy and tasted divine poured over the white rice, which soaked up the flavors. It was a delicious and warming meal that was delightful given the cold weather outside!

Tasting the food!!

Tasting the food!!

C31

I couldn’t choose a favorite out of the two dishes, because both flavors were delicious in my opinion. My parents preferred the Sweet Korean BBQ dish because they aren’t as used to the “creaminess” of the Thai Curry (from coconut milk, I’m guessing) and found it a little too sweet, and they both also like beef more than chicken. But they still commented that they liked the curry dish and that it was good.

Spooning sauce over the rice!

Spooning sauce over the rice!

Overall, we were impressed with the Campbell’s sauces, particularly the strength of the flavors and the ease of preparation. In fact, my father was VERY disbelieving when I told him all we had to do was pour the sauce over the beef in the slow cooker. He kept giving me a skeptical look and asking whether we needed to add any water, spices, etc., or watch it, and so forth! He was shocked at how well the dish turned out, and my mother said that she’d definitely buy the sauce in the future for some easy and tasty meals!

Happy with the meal!

Happy with the meal!

Besides how simple they were to use, I also liked how customizable the Campbell’s Sauces allow you to be. I enjoyed adding in my own vegetables to the curry, and I could easily see adding in veggies or other ingredients to the slow cooker sauce/dish as well. I think this gives the cook/customer a nice amount of flexibility to craft a meal to his/her own particular tastes!

We definitely enjoyed being given this chance to try the new Campbell’s Sauces! As my mother said, we’ll be purchasing these pouches in the future, and will also look forward to trying the other varieties. So thank you Campbell’s and Crowdtap for this opportunity!

One thought on “Campbell’s Skilled Saucers Hosted Party!

Leave a Reply

